Ethics Hotline Contact

Sener’s President inaugurates Sener’s new branch in Brussels


The new facilities are being opened in order to promote and facilitate interaction with European companies, as well as to interface more directly with the organizations that have set up bases in that European capital, mainly NATO and the EU.

Located very close to the European Parliament headquarters, on Rue d’Arlon, 55 in the heart of the European neighborhood, they boast the latest technological and security features.

Over the past few years, as a result of a significant collaborative effort with numerous companies, Sener has achieved notable successes and played important roles in European programs in both the space and defense sectors, through various initiatives financed by the European Defence Fund.

In the last year, an international consortium ld by Sener (called EU-HYDEF), involving six Spanish companies and many others from seven other countries, won the largest project launched to date. Its goal is to develop the concept of a European interceptor missile to defend against hypersonic missiles. Sener also leads another consortium (COMMANDS) to promote the development of capacities for autonomous land vehicles, in which 21 companies from 10 member states collaborate.

The announcement was made on 9 February at an event attended by the leading Spanish officials serving in Brussels. Andrés Sendagorta, President of Sener, thanked everyone for attending and gave a brief presentation on Sener’s history and commitment.

Along with the President of the Sener Group, representing the company were the Managing Director of Sener Aerospace and Defense, José Julián Echevarría; the General Manager of Defense, Rafael Orbe; the Head of Sener’s representative office in Brussels, Fernando Horcada, who is also the Head of the Spanish delegation to the NATO Advisory Group; and the Head of the EU and NATO programs in Brussels, Fernando Grávalos.

The reception was attended by numerous civil and military officials from the Spanish community, most notably: Alberto Antón Cortés, the Spanish Ambassador to Brussels; María Elena Gómez Castro, Permanent Ambassador of Spain to the Political and Security Committee (PSC) of the European Council; Federico Torres Muro, Permanent Representative of Spain to NATO’s North Atlantic Council;  Army General Fernando Alejandre Martínez, former Head of the Defense Staff; Lieutenant General (Air Force) Francisco Javier Fernández Sánchez, Permanent Military Representative of Spain to the NATO and EU Military Committees, and his deputy, Major General (Army) Íñigo Pareja Rodríguez; Major General (Air Force) Lucas Muñoz Bronchales, representative of the NATO Transformation Command to the NATO Military Committee; Rear Admiral Emilio Fajardo Jimena, Director of Industry, Synergy and Enablers of the European Defence Agency; Pablo López Álvarez, Chairman of the Spanish Chamber of Commerce in Belgium and Luxembourg; and several members of the European Parliament and Spanish officials of the European Commission.


Share it:

image/svg+xml image/svg+xml image/svg+xml image/svg+xml